Rheem are proud partners of the premier Supercars squad, the Shell V-Power Racing Team

Rheem New Zealand is proud to continue its partnership with the premier Supercars squad for the 2018 season.

The #12 and #17 Shell V-Power Racing Fords will continue to display the Rheem logo for all 15-rounds of the 2018 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship.

With seven Australian Touring Car Championships and three Bathurst 1000 victories to its credit, there’s no doubt that the Shell V-Power Racing Team will continue providing a captivating platform for the Rheem brand.

The team’s Ford Falcons will be piloted by the highly-experienced duo of Fabian Coulthard and Scott McLaughlin.

The season so far:

As the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship heads into the endurance section of the season, Shell V-Power Racing Team’s Scott McLaughlin sits in second position of the Supercars Drivers’ Championship, having notched up seven race wins and eleven pole positions so far this year.

Celebrating 100 race wins at Hidden Valley raceway.

Most recently, the championship made its way to The Bend Motorsport Park in Tailem Bend, South Australia. This multi-million dollar facility is the first new permanent race circuit to open in Australia since the Queensland Raceway opened in 1999 – a long time between new venues!

It was a tough weekend from the outset, as teams came to grips with the brand new surface which was so smooth, it was difficult to find grip.

Ultimately, the team scrambled to two top-10 results for Scott McLaughlin and two top-15 results for Fabian Coulthard. Next up is the opening event of the Pirtek Enduro Cup, where the team will be joined by co-drivers Alex Premat and Tony D’Alberto.

Previous to racing at The Bend was another new event, the Sydney SuperNight 300. This was the first time in two decades where a race had been held under lights at Sydney Motorsport Park. It was a fantastic spectacle, with a great crowd coming out to watch flames popping from the exhausts and the brake rotors glow as the cars slowed from over 250km/h. Scott McLaughlin took a strong podium result, with third place in the Saturday night feature.

In July, the championship made its way to Queensland Raceway in Ipswich where McLaughlin recorded two poles, a race win and a second place at the ‘paperclip’ with teammate Fabian Coulthard taking two fifth place finishes.

Earlier in July, the Supercars series visited Townsville where McLaughlin scored two podium finishes and a pole at the tricky circuit that combines both permanent track and public roads.

Driver Scott McLaughlin and racing legend Dick Johnson

In late June, McLaughlin clinched the team’s 100th all-time race win at Hidden Valley Raceway in Darwin, which he backed up with a second place on the following day.

Prior to the mid-Winter trip north, the championship went to Winton in Victoria where Coulthard took the chequered flag first on the Sunday with teammate McLaughlin joining him on the podium in third. This result further built on the solid points gained the previous day with fourth and fifth place finishes respectively.

Barbagallo Raceway in Western Australia in May proved to be fruitful for McLaughlin, who claimed both race wins and a pole, with a particularly impressive performance in race two where the youngster won after starting from 19th on the grid.

The Phillip Island round in April saw McLaughlin sweep the weekend with two race wins and two poles in a hugely dominant performance. The massive points haul saw him take the lead in the Drivers’ Championship, a position he has maintained since. Coulthard joined his teammate on the podium in the first race – a great overall result for the team.

With a second place in race two at Tasmania’s Symmons Plains Raceway in early April, McLaughlin claimed useful points at the tight, anticlockwise circuit.

After eleven rounds of the championship, Scott McLaughlin sits in second place and Fabian Coulthard sits in sixth in the Drivers’ Championship. DJR Team Penske, which was founded by racing legend Dick Johnson, sits in second place in the Teams’ Championship.

At the time of writing, the team will next head to Sandown Raceway in Victoria, for the Sandown 500 – the opening race of the Pirtek Enduro Cup.

Watch DJR Team Penske dominate on NZ soil when they return to Pukekohe Park Raceway for the ITM Auckland SuperSprint event.  2–4 November 2018  

Visit www.supercars.com/auckland for event and ticket info